Hereditary Mental Illness

So this weekend I went out with my mom, like I to every few weeks to do some shopping and get some mother/son face time. While we were out, we went to breakfast, and I attempted to tell her about how I was reading “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened” by Jenny Lawson (which is an incredibly funny book, and I suggest you go buy it. Now. I will wait.)

Anyway, in the book she describes how she moved to the Texas hill country, and basically into my mom’s neighborhood. This is how the conversation went.

Me: So I am reading a really funny book written by a woman who lives near you.

Mom: Is it by that woman from Saturday Night Live?

Me: Huh? Someone from SNL (I didn’t actually say SNL, but I didn’t want to type out the whole thing because I am posting this from my phone on a city bus) lives near you?

Mom: I don’t think so.

Me: Then why did you guess that? And who are you talking about?

Mom: You know, Tina Fey. You said you were reading a funny book.

Me: I am pretty sure Tuna Fey lives in New York.

Mom: Blank stare

Me: I don’t think she lives near you.

Mom: Well of course not.

I just went back to eating my lunch at this point. Some conversations need to be ended before madness sets in.

One thought on “Hereditary Mental Illness

  1. You got further than I did with my mom, so…points.
    But, out of curiosity (and nitpickiness), didn’t it take you longer to type “(I didn’t actually say SNL, but I didn’t want to type out the whole thing because I am posting this from my phone on a city bus)” than it would have to type “Saturday Night Live”? Cuz…I mean…It just seems…you know.

    And do you really call Tina Fey “Tuna?” or does that relate back to the phone and the city bus? That question stems from me calling my BFF, whose name is Tina, “Tuna” when we were kids cuz it was funny back then and then I wondered if Tina Fey is your BFF, based on my Tina/Tuna experience. And if she is, could you please tell her I need to be BFFs with her, too? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

