The Doctor’s New Companion

As you will soon realize as we get closer and closer to the new season of Doctor Who… I am a bit of a fanatic when it comes to the show. So when the good forlks over at The Mary Sue (I cannot express how much I love that site) posted a picture of the new companion in costume, I was all over it.

What is she looking at?!

And now, I have to brace myself. This happens every time there is a new companion introduced on the show. For those who don’t have any idea what I am talking about (I have no idea why you would be reading this post in that case, but I am not going to tell you your business) The Doctor is the main character in the show Doctor Who, and and a time traveling alien to boot. Traveling through time and space is cool and all, but it can be lonely. That means he will occasionally pick up a “companion” to ride around with him. This may be one of the most coveted jobs in all of geekdom.

The problem arises when the Doctor gets a new companion. You can spend years getting attached to a character, only to have them replaced when that actor moves on to something else. There are stages I go through each time this happens. They are my Stages of Companion Transition, and they go like this…

Stage One: Anger

A companion I love and am comfortable with is written out of the show, and I am pissed off. Not only are they written out, but you guys think you can just drop another person in their place and I will be happy?  [Insert Companion Name Here] was vital to the show! They had qualities  that made them unique and special. You can’t just replace them and expect this new person to take over! Screw you guys.

Stage Two: Loss

Why have you taken them from me?! Why are they gone?! I will never love another companion again. Screw this show.

Stage Three: Distrust

So… this new person thinks they can just stroll into the TARDIS say “But, it’s bigger on the inside. That is impossible!” and we are all supposed to love them? Who do they think they are? Do they think they can just wander into our lives and just take the place of [Insert Companion Name Here]? It doesn’t work like that. They think they are even worthy of riding with the Doctor? Screw them.

Stage Five: Acceptance

Fine. [Insert Companion Name Here] is gone and there is nothing I can do about it. I still don’t have to like them.

Stage Six: Fandom

Best. Companion. EVAR! I hope they never leave the show! Screw anyone that doesn’t see how awesome this new companion is.

Stage Seven: Rewind

What do you mean they are leaving the show after this season?! Screw this show.

And so the cycle of companions goes. Being a fan of Doctor Who isn’t always easy, but we are dedicated. Though companions, Doctors, show runners and recurring characters we tough it out. So strap in Whovians… it is going to be another bumpy ride.

Oh, and the article says something about The Walking Dead, but I don’t watch that show, so i didn’t pay much attention.

Leave a Reply

