The Anxiety Drinking Game

So my last post led me to work out this drinking game based on anxiety disorders. Here are the rules.

1. Contact friends to meet in a social situation. If you begin to immediately rethink ever having made these plans and have a panic attack making you want to cancel – Drink once.

2. If you show up to the designated venue early to have a drink to aleviate the anxiety before anyone shows up – Drink once.

3. Realize everyone else had the same idea and showed up early also – Drink once.

4. Consider giving friends an obligatory hug in greeting because “you are supposed to”- Drink once

5. Hesitate when giving said hug because physical contact scares the hell out of you – Drink once

6. Wonder if the hug was the wrong move because you “weren’t supposed to” – Drink twice

7. Realize these are your friends and you should not be scared of them, but are anyway – Drink once

8. Stay in the bathroom for too long because you are scared you have made an ass of yourself in front of your friends – Drink once

9. Feel like an ass because you are sure everyone is thinking you were in the bathroom way too long – Drink twice

10. Series of awkward moments – Chug drink

11. Wonder if all of this drinking is making you act like a complete moron, and everyone will hate you tomorrow – Drink water

12. Stop playing game because you are too drunk at this point to remember the rules. – Take a shot

13. By this point you are likely trashed and can forget the game – Pass out

14. Wake up the next morning and avoid talking to friends because you are sure you made an ass of yourself the night before. – Take something for the hangover

15. Talk to friends, realize they love you and want to hang out again. – Rinse and repeat

I am sure I left out some rules, so feel free to adjust to your needs and let me know.  Thank you to all my online friends who inspired this.

4 thoughts on “The Anxiety Drinking Game

  1. Perfect! This is pretty much exactly how my social interactions would go if I still drank.

    4. Consider giving friends an obligatory hug in greeting because “you are supposed to”- Drink once

    5. Hesitate when giving said hug because physical contact scares the hell out of you – Drink once

    Because of this my friends and I now have a no touching Japanese tilt style “hug” where we hold our arms out wide enough for a hug but tilt at the waist like some Japanese businessmen. It works for me, I’m sure they think I’m nuts but they oblige me anyway.

  2. How did you find out about my game? J/K… but seriously… this makes me wish I drank. Then maybe some of my anxiety could be alleviated in weird social situations. But I don’t drink… I just take a pill a bit before I leave and pray it kicks in in time for me to not end up crying in the fetal position on a restaurant bathroom floor. Doesn’t nearly work as well.

Leave a Reply

